Koalas at the Zoo…

Posted: February 9, 2010 in FROM AUSTRALIA

Life with the koalas…..

Hi there! This is a photo of me when I worked in Sydney Zoo. I looked after koalas and other Australian mammals like kangaroos, wallabies, wombats, dingoes, possums, gliders, bilbies, bandicoots, tasmanian devils and even platypus and echidnas. Do you remember these animals from the presentation? Koalas in a zoo need special care. They need fresh leaves everyday and these leaves have to be cut from trees grown especially for koalas, in a forest close to the zoo. Do you remember the names of the trees koalas like? At the zoo, the males live with a few females,  like a harem. If 2 males live together, they fight. Every September, the females have babies, sometimes twins!! Breeding behaviour in the zoo is the same as in the wild. The male calls at night and the females carry their babies in their pouches and later on their backs. This is always the best time to take photos of the koalas as the babies are so cute. People come from all over the world to see koalas in Australia, and in the zoo, it is possible to have your photo taken with a koala. Many celebrities, when they are promoting a new film in Australia come to this zoo so they can have a photo taken with a koala.

Comments
  1. Alba Hernández Castañeda says:

    The presentation is very interesting for me. The video is very nice and the photo… I haven’t words to describe it. I’d like to be there and have a koala in my arms, they’re very beautiful.

  2. Anya Lima Hdez says:

    the koalas are beautiful! i liked the presentation but the second video was disgusting

  3. Marta says:

    I really like this photo and I also like the Koalas they’re
    beautiful!!! I would like to take a koala…

  4. Carlos H. H. says:

    The Zoo uniform is perfect for Ardelia, and I think that the Koalas, and all the animals from Australia are very interesting, and we are really lucky because we have Ardelia with us, I don’t understand why some boys were laughing when the baby koala was born.

    P.D. : I also don’t understand the obsession with the comments!!!

  5. Ana Ascanio says:

    wooow Ardelia! I want a koala! I think it is the perfect work for her. Do you agree with me?

  6. Paula says:

    Wauuu Arderlia is amazing!!I would love to see a koala…I want to go to Australia!!

  7. jennifer paez hdez. says:

    koalas are very nice, pity that they are only in Australia

  8. karla valenzuela says:

    I think the koalas are very beautiful

  9. Mischael Frind Abrante says:

    Thank you for the presentation, the video and this photo. The photo is very nice Thanks.

  10. Celia Días Brito says:

    Koalas are so cute ! ^^

  11. ooooh! It’s a very nice photo.I like the koalas and thank you for the video.

  12. Claudia says:

    Koalas are a lot of work.
    I would like to go to the zoo to see koalas.
    Ardelia, take me some day, please!!!

  13. Daniel Hernandez says:

    Oooh my god!
    You’re very lucky fof take a koala, I would like to do it…:D

Leave a Reply

